The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is one of the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) of the African Union comprising the following fifteen countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo with a total area of 6.1 million km2 and a population of nearly 370 million inhabitants.

The WASIG’s main objective is to build capacity of West African stakeholders on Internet Governance (IG) issues in general and in particular on prevailing and emerging issues in West Africa. The capacity building and awareness raising exercises on Internet Governance will ensure that the participants are well prepared to contribute at the national, regional, continental and global levels of the IG proce.